Excellence Through Learning

The Department of Chemistry is one of the oldest at Forman Christian College. Its rich tradition as a leading institution of the discipline is reflected by the eminent scholars of chemistry who served it. A special mention must be made of Prof Dr Carter Speers (1940-1951), Head of the Department and Professor of Technical Chemistry at the University of the Punjab; Dr R F Tebbe, an eminent Organic Chemist and learned scholar. He served the Department as Professor and later as Principal of the College for twelve years; and Prof Khairat M Ibne Rasa, an internationally known chemist, who was Professor of Organic Chemistry and Head of the Department.

Opportunities of professional careers for Chemistry Graduates are available in education, R&D organizations, Research, and a wide range of industries such as pharmaceutical, fertilizers, cement, leather, textile, paints and dyes, petroleum, sugar, soap and detergents, and many more.

The Department of Chemistry at FCCU currently offers BS (4-year), MPhil (2-year) and PhD (3-year) programs. It offers a wide range of courses in analytical, inorganic, organic, physical chemistry and biochemistry and other interdisciplinary areas.

Programs Offered

The BS (Hons) in Chemistry aims to train students intellectually and professionally to work in a variety of capacities and providing informed and skilled human resource and academics for local and international needs. Click here to visit Baccalaureate (Hons) in Chemistry to find out more.

Postgraduate degrees in Chemistry prepare students to play productive roles in different capacities, such as educators, researchers and chemists. They also lay strong foundations for students who plan further education in Pakistan or abroad. Click here to visit Postgraduate in Chemistry to find out more.