The Department of Chemistry in association with Department of Pharmacy of Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore organizes Three-day conference on

Medicinal & Pharmaceutical Chemistry

January 29-31



The Department of Chemistry, Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore, has been organizing national and international workshops and conferences annually since 2014 on different topics of current interest. For the year 2020, the department is organizing a three-day international conference on “Medicinal & Pharmaceutical Chemistry“, from 29 to 31 January, 2020.

Medicinal Chemistry has firmly established as a field of science, and its many facets involve drug designing and delivery, synthesis of small molecules with potential for use as drugs, screening for biological activity, identification and optimization of lead molecules and identification of targets to promote drug efficiency. With growing awareness for the use of drugs derived from natural sources, the medicinal and the pharmaceutical sciences are getting/focusing greater attention to derive/isolate, and produce natural curing agents, and to develop new strategies for the drug delivery. In this context the role of nanoscience and nanotechnology has recently become important, particularly the use of nanoparticles as drug vehicles to carry the drugs to specified targets.

The Conference aims to bring together eminent scientists and researchers, faculty and students, working in the fields of medicinal chemistry, nanoscience and nanotechnology and related areas to discuss and share new ideas and innovations, and to establish fruitful collaborations based on mutual interests.

The dedicated and concerted endeavors of the chemists and the pharmacologists have made the difficult journey of molecules possible as drugs from lab to market. In the process new ideas developed and new fascinating avenues of research created. It is highly desirable for researchers and academicians to keep their knowledge updated through personal and institutional associations and thus become a part of the development process.

Forman Christian College (A Chartered University) is a one hundred fifty year old institution located in the historic city of Lahore. It enjoys excellent facilities for international conferences. The city itself is known for its historic heritage.

The conference aims to address and discuss all aspects of medicinal chemistry and related areas. Abstracts are invited from medicinal and pharmaceutical chemists for oral talks and poster presentation. Some of the themes (but in no way the only ones) to be covered in the conference are suggested below:

  • Synthetic (organic & inorganic) medicinal compounds
  • Natural products
  • Computer aided drug design & discovery (CADD)
  • Nanomaterials & their biological potential
  • Ligand based and structure based drug design
  • Enzyme inhibitors
  • Antimicrobial compounds
  • Recent developments in cancer research
  • Pharmacology & therapeutics
  • Pharmacodynamics & pharmacokinetics 

Click here for Abstract Submission & Registration

  • Registration Fee (Before 20th December, 2019)

Faculty: Rs 4000/-                            Student: Rs 3000/-

  • Registartion Fee (After 20th December, 2019)

Faculty: Rs 5000/-                           Student: Rs 4000/-

Note: Group registration discount is available

Bank Account Details:

Bank Name: Habib Bank Limited

Branch: Fc College University, Lahore

Account No: 2361-70000003-01

Account Title: Forman Christian College

IBAN #: Pk11 HABB 0023617000000301

Swift Code: HABBPKKA

Currency: Pakistani Rupee

Note: Deposit registration fee, attach original bank deposit slip along with filled registration form and send via post to:

Dr. Mariya al-Rashida, Chairperson, Chemistry Department, Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore.

Sponsors and Collaborator

  • Chemical society of Pakistan (CSP)
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC-Pakistan Local Section)
  • Center for Advanced Drug Research, COMSATS

Dr. Mariya al-Rashida

Chairperson, Department of Chemistry

Tel: (042) 99231518-8, Ext: 594



Chief Patron

  • Dr. James A Tebbe (Rector)

Chief Organizer

  • Dr. Dildar Ahmed (Dean of Natural Science)

Focal Person

  • Dr. Athar Yasin Khan

Organizing Secretary

  • Dr. Mariya al Rashida (Chairperson, Department of Chemistry)

Industry Academia Coordinator

  • Dr. Dildar Ahmed (Dean Faculty of Natural Sciences)
  • Mr. Muhammad Idress (CEO Nova-Med Pharmaceutical Pvt. Ltd)
  • Dr. Muhammad Tayyab Mirza (CEO All Cure International)
  • Dr. Abdul Haleem Khan (Chairperson, Department of Pharmacy)
  • Dr. Muhammad Saeed Iqbal

Scientific Committee

  • Dr. Athar Yasin Khan
  • Dr. Muhammad Akhyar Farrukh
  • Dr. Muhammad Tariq Qamar
  • Dr. Hira Khalid
  • Dr. Abdul Hameed
  • Dr. Khurram Rehman


  • Dr. Muhammad Tariq Qamar
  • Dr. Atta ur Rehman
  • Mr. Azeem Emanuallah

Stage and Venue

  • Dr. Shazma Azeem
  • Dr. Liaba Arshad
  • Mr. Arslan William

Reception and Registration

  • Ms. Hina Abid
  • Ms. Urfa Atzaz


  • Dr. Muhammad Nadeem Asghar
  • Mr. Kashif Masih


  • Dr. Abdul Hameed
  • Dr. Atta ur Rahman
  • Mr. Kashif Masih
International Invited Speakers
  • Rima DakheelAllah H Alharthy
    (King Abdulaziz University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
  • Athar Ata
    (Department of Chemistry, University of Winnipeg, Win-nipeg, Canada)
  • Mohsin Kazi
    (Department of Pharmaceutics, College of Pharmacy, King Saud University, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Ara-bia)
  • Abdul Matin
    (Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences, College of Applied Medical Sciences, Majmaah University, Majma-ah, Saudi Arabia)
  • Muhammad Sharif
    (Department of Chemistry, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM), Dhahran, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
  • Salprima Yudha S
    (Department of Chemistry, University of Bengkulu, In-donesia)
  • Mohammad Isreb
    (School of Pharmacy, University of Bradford, Bradford, UK)
  • Shahzeb Khan
    (Fulbright Fellow/Research Assistant at Department of Molecular Pharmaceutics, College of Pharmacy, Uni-versity of Texas, Austin USA)
  • Khurram Saleem Joya
    (King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, King-dom of Saudi Arabia)
  • Sabina Jhaumeer Laulloo
    (Department of Chemistry, University of Mauritius, Ré-duit, Moka, Mauritius)
National Invited Speakers
  • Muhammad Raza Shah
    (HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, ICCBS, University of Karachi, Karachi)
  • Khalid M. Khan
    (HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, ICCBS, University of Karachi, Karachi)
  • Jamshed Iqbal
    (Center for Advanced Drug Re-search (CADR), COMSATS University Islamabad, Abbot-tabad Campus)
  • Irshad Hussain
    (Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Lahore University of Manage-ment Sciences (LUMS), Lahore)
  • Syed Tufail Hussain Sherazi
    (National Center of Excellence in Analytical Chemistry, University of Sindh, Jamshoro)
  • Syed Abid Ali
    (HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, ICCBS, University of Karachi, Karachi)
  • Shamim A. Qureshi
    (Department of Biochemistry, University of Karachi)
  • Khurshid Ayub
    (Department of Chemistry, COM-SATS University Islamabad, Abbottabad Campus)
  • Muhammad Saeed
    (Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Lahore University of Manage-ment Sciences (LUMS), Lahore)
  • Rahman Shahzaib Saleem
    (Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS), Lahore)
  • Muhammad Athar Abbasi
    (Department of Chemistry, Government College University (GCU), Lahore)
  • Muhammad Imran Malik
    (HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, ICCBS, University of Karachi, Karachi