According to FAO, the world population will be nearly 9 billion by 2050. Such an increase needs commensurate agricultural production to feed the global population. In view of increasing urbanization and decrease in arable land, vertical increase in crop productivity is required by using all possible technologies related to sustainable agriculture. It is in this context that use of microorganisms in agriculture has become of prime importance. Role of microorganism in nutrient mobilization for crops has an immense potential starting from biological nitrogen fixation to plant growth promoting rhizobacteria. In addition, microbes have been used as bio-pesticides and for control of soil borne pathogens.

In recent years there has been enormous growth in the understanding of soil microbial ecology elucidating various interactions between plants and microbes & between microbes. Using metagenomic approaches it has been demonstrated that plants harbor a wide variety of microbes whose function is still not very clear. However, deciphering the various types of interactions between plants and their microbiome is a hot topic of research in plant science and agronomy.

This conference aims to bring together international and national experts to review the status of soil microbial ecology and its impact on Sustainable Agriculture.


Dr James Tebbe

FCCU Rector

Dr Kauser


Dr Kauser Abdulla Malik HI, SI, TI

Dean of Postgraduate Studies, FCCU 


Dr Samina Mehnaz

Chairperson, Department of Biological Sciences, FCCU 

Last Date of abstract submission:  15 February 2019

For information and abstract submission: msa19@fccollege.edu.pk

The registration fee includes copy of conference program, copy of abstracts, daily refreshments, conference banquet, cultural evening and free transportation form airport to the hotel and from hotel to venue of conference.

Please click here to download the registration form 

Registration Fee:

  • Students/Researchers (Rs.3000)
  • Faculty (Rs.5000)
  • Foreigners (USD 500)

On site registration is also possible.

Abstract Submission

Abstract must be submitted through conference Email: msa19@fccollege.edu.pk

  • The presenting author is required to ensure that all co-authors are aware before submission.
  • The presenter name should be underlined in the abstract.
  • Presenting author’s updated contact details

Abstract format:

Abstract Title: (Times New Roman, font Size 14 Bold, Sentence Case)

Author’s Names: (Times New Roman, Font Size 12 Bold)

Abstract Text: limited to 300 words (Times New Roman, font Size 12, Single Space)

DRAFT (Tentative)

Microbes for Sustainable Agriculture

March 25-28, 2019

Day 1March 25, 2019
9:00 am – 9:30 amRegistration
9:30 am – 11:00amInaugural Session
11:00am – 11:30 amTea Break
11:30am – 1:00pmSession 1 : Microbiome in Agriculture
1:00pm – 2:00 pmLunch Break
2:00pm – 3:30pmSession 2: Plant-Microbe Interactions
3:30pm – 4:00 pmTea Break
4:00 pm – 5:30 pmSession 3: Microbe-Microbe Interactions
Day 2March 26, 2019
10:00am- 11:30amSession 1: Soil-Microbe Interaction
11:30am – 12:00 pmTea Break
12:00pm – 1:30 pmSession 2:  Microbes and Plant diseases
1:30pm – 2:30 pmLunch Break
2:30 pm onwardsVisit to other Institutions
Day 3March 27, 2019
10:00am – 11:30amSession 1:  Microbial Metabolites and Plant Growth
11:30 am – 12:00 pmTea Break
12:00 pm – 1:30 pmSession 2:  Microbial Formulations
1:30pm – 2:30pmLunch Break
2:30pm – 4:00 pmSession 3:  Plant Microbiome
Day 4March 28, 2019
10:00am – 11:30amSession 1:  Plants, Microbes and Extreme Environment
11:30 am – 12:00 pmTea Break
12:00 pm – 1:30 pmSession 2:  Application of Microbes in Agriculture
1:30pm – 2:30pmLunch Break
2:30pm –4:00pmConcluding Ceremony
4:00pm – 4:30pmConcluding Tea

The Conference will be held at the beautiful campus of the Forman Christian College University Lahore, Pakistan which is more than 150 years old institution. The University is located in the heart of the city of Lahore, which is the cultural capital of Pakistan and 15 minutes driving distance from the main shopping center. Lahore houses several historical places like Badshahi Mosque, Shahi Fort, Greater Iqbal Park and several food streets. Post conference tour of the city will be organized on request.

Organizing Committee
International Advisory Committee
National Organizing Committee
Local Organizing Committee
  • Anton Hartman, Helmholtz Zentrum Munich, Germany
  • Olli Tuovinen, Ohio State University, Ohio, USA
  • Barbara Reinhold, University of Bremen, Germany
  • Joyce Loper, USDA, Oregon, USA
  • Alexandre Jousset, University of Utrecht, the Netherlands
  • Jagdish Kumar Ladha, UC Davis, USA
  • Abu T M A Choudhury, University of Sydney, Australia
  • George Lazarovits, A&L Biological, Ontario, Canada
  • Ann Hirsch, UCLA, USA
  • Dilfuza Egamberdieva, ZALF, Muncheberg, Germany
  • Philippe Normand, University of Lyon, France
  • Raffaella Balestrini, IPSP-CNR, Torino, Italy
  • Dr. Naveen Kumar Arora, BBA University, Lucknow, India
  • Kauser Abdulla Malik (Chair), Dean Postgraduate Studies, FCCU, Lahore
  • Dr. Yusuf Zafar, Chairman, PARC
  • Manzoor H. Soomro, President ECOSF
  • Hassan Amir Shah, VC, GCUL
  • Zabta Khan Shinwari, QAU
  • M. Iqbal Choudary, ICCBS
  • Shahid Mansoor, Director, NIBGE
  • Shehzad Alam, Chairman, PCSIR
  • Talat Naseer Pasha, VC, UVAS
  • Iqrar Ahmad Khan, UAF
  • Fauzia Yusuf, COMSAT
  • Ikram ul Haq, GCUL
  • Asma Imran, NIBGE
  • Iftikhar Ahmed, NARC
  • Tariq Mahmood, NIAB, AvH Fellow
  • M. Irfan ul Haq, Auriga
  • Asghari Bano, University of WAH, AvH Fellow
  • Zahoor, FB Genetics
  • M. Sajjad Mirza (NIBGE)
  • Dr. James A, Tebbe, Rector FCCU (Patron)
  • Prof. Joseph Sun, Vice Rector, FCCU
  • Dr. Kauser Abdulla Malik
  • Dr. Samina Mehnaz
  • Dr. Dildar Ahmed
  • Dr. Hamid Saeed
  • Dr. Rehan Siddiqui
  • Dr. Aftab Bashir
  • Dr. Wajahat Hussain
  • Dr. Zakia Latif , MMG, PU
  • Dr. Bilal saeed
  • Dr. Muhammad Irfan
  • Dr. Anjum Nasim, MMG, PU
  • Dr. Deeba Noreen Baig
  • Dr. Quratulain Asad, PCSIR
  • Dr. Salma Mukhtar
  • Dr. Ambreen, Botany, PU
  • Mr. Muhammad Adeel
  • Ms. Izzah Shahid
  • Ms. Maryam Zareen­
National Speakers
International Speakers
  • Dr. Fauzia Yusuf (COMSATS, Islamabad)
  • Dr. Asghari Bano (University of Wah, Wah)
  • Dr. Ali Akbar (University of Balochistan, Quetta)
  • Dr. Asma Imran (NIBGE, Faisalabad)
  • Dr. Zahir A. Zahir (University of Agriculture, Faisalabad)
  • Dr. Syed Abid Ali (University of Karachi, Karachi)
  • Dr. Mashkoor Mohsin (University of Agriculture, Faisalabad)
  • Dr. M. Kamran Azim (Muhammad Ali Jinnah University, Karachi)
  • Dr. Samina Iqbal (NIBGE, Faisalabad)
  • Dr. Tariq Sultan (NARC, Islamabad)
  • Dr. Sumera Yasmin (NIBGE, Faisalabad)
  • Dr. Iftikhar Ahmed (NARC, Islamabad)
  • Dr. J.K. Ladha (University of California, Davis, CA,USA)
  • Dr. Babur Mirza (Missouri State University, MO, USA)
  • Dr. George Lazarovits (A&L Biologicals, Agroecology Research Services Centre, 2136 Jetstream Rd, London, ON, Canada)
  • Dr. Ann M. Hirsch (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
  • Dr. A.T.M.A. Choudhury (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Dr. Naveen Kumar Arora (BBA University, Lucknow, India)
  • Dr. Tomislav Cernava Graz (University of Technology, Austria)
  • Dr. Maged M. Saad (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudia Arabia)
  • Dr. Anton Hartman (Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen, Germany)
  • Dr. Olli Tuovinen (Ohio State University. Ohio, USA)
  • Dr. Dilfuza Egamberdieva (ZALF, Muncheberg, Germany)
  • Dr. Harald Gross (University of Tubingen, Germany)
  • Dr. Muhammad Javed Zarea (ILM University, Iran)