FCCU successfully concluded its 130th Annual Athletics Championship on the afternoon of Thursday 16 February 2017. The 130th Annual Athletics Championship of Forman Christian College (A Chartered University) start at the picturesque track of the University with traditional fervor and enthusiasm. The championship was opened by FCCU Rector, Dr James A Tebbe. Keeping in line with the traditions of the university, the ceremony started with March Past by the athletes, under their team banners, followed by opening declaration by Dr Tebbe. Afterwards, Mr Azher Iqbal took the Olympic Oath on behalf of all the participating athletes.It was followed by the Athletics and Gymkhana events. Griswold Hall got the march past trophy.

The championship reflected the improving athletics standards of the university. The Chief Guest Former Director in the Chief Minister’s Secretariat, Mr Shafaat Ahmad Chaudhry distributed the prizes among the winners. He promised continued support to the college in the field of sports.

Mr Zafar Ullah and Ms Shabnam Nawaz were declared the Best Athletes. Shirazi Hall won the Championship Trophy.

Mr Zafar Ullah broke the 36 years record of 100m race in FCCU in this year’s championship. The previous record of 11.00 seconds has been replaced with 10.87 seconds.

He is also the record holder of 100m of Lahore Board with the timing of 10.76 seconds

First time in the history of FCCU, 5 girl’s teams participated in the 4x100m Relay Race.

Following are the results of the championship:

Event NameFirstSecondThird
Hockey Ball Throw (Girls)NidaSuzanneRida
2000m Cycle Race (Girls)SuzanneShabnam NawazAlisha
Musical ChairsProf. Sana Akbar BhattiMs. Sadaf SadiqProf. Julia Austin
100m ( College Support Staff)QaiserRiazKhalid
100m (College Adminstrative Staff)Suleman KhairullahFayyaz YousafSulman Gill
100m Race (Faculty)Prof. Kashif SadiqProf. Bilal AhmadProf. Ashiq John
50m Staff ChildrenJosephAlishaSuzanne
100m Staff ChildrenJoshuaHannanAbdia
200m Prefect RaceUmair NawazFaisal HayatYahya Shamoon
 4 x 100m Relay (Faculty Inter Dept)Prof. Arif/ Prof. Shaukat/ Prof. Raheel/ Prof. Shaukat/ Prof. Umer  (Physics)Prof. Mohsin/ Prof. Bilal/ Prof. Iqbal/ Prof. Kashif (Maths)Prof. Shahzad/ Prof. Johnson/ Prof. Anil/ Prof. Abida (Urdu)
4000m Cycle RaceM. FarooqM. YounasM. Ameen
100m Old Boys Handicap RaceProf. M. NawazFaisal MeerShahzad/ Bilal
100m Sack RaceHarisBurhanM. Younas
25 Slow CyclingM. YounasM. AmeenM. Farooq
100m Wheelbarrow RaceBilal & HarisSher Haider / ZakirM. Younas/ M. Farooq
100m Three Legged RaceMesan & ZakirM. Farooq & M. YounasAbubaker & Hamza
Pillow FightM. Awais & ZakirM. Talha & AbubakarAnas & Dawood
100m (Girls)Shabnam NawazRidaFizza
200m (Girls)Shabnam NawazRidaSaheefa
400m (Girls)Shabnam NawazNidaSaheefa
Long Jump (Girls)Shabnam NawazSaheefaNida
Shot Put (Girls)NatashaHaniaPerm Rose
Discus Throw (Girls)Perm RoseMahnoorShabnam
4 x 100m Relay (Grils)Shabnam / Hannia/ Suzanne/ BashairSaman / Nida / Rida/ MahnoorSaheefa/ Sanjeeta/ Naima/ Secrat
4 x 100m RelayHaris/ Bilal/ Awais/ MoezHamza/ Humayun/ Rehan/ FaisalUmair/ Jahangir/ Namal/ Ahid
4 x 400m RelayHamza/ Humayun/ Rehan/ FaisalAzher/ Muneel/ Talal/ TalhaAdnan/ Zakir/ Sami/ Farrukh
100mZafar Ullah KhanUmair KhanHamza Latif
200mZafar Ullah KhanUmair KhanAzher Iqbal
400mZafar Ullah KhanAzher IqbalHamza Latif
800mAzher IqbalZafar Ullah KhanEhtisham Francis
1500mAzher IqbalEhtisham FrancisHamza Latif
5000mAzher IqbalM. FahimFarrukh Shahzad
High JumpHarisRehan ShaukatZafar Ullah Khan
Long JumpZafar Ullah KhanNaqash HaiderRehan Shaukat
Triple JumpZafar Ullah KhanAzher IqbalHaris
Shot PutM.IrshadAli WaqarWahid Khan
Discus ThrowM. IrshadWahid KhanBilal
Hammer ThrowHytham ZahidZafar Ullah KhanAdnan Shaukat
Javelin ThrowAbbasHarisBurhan
Best AthleteZafar Ullah Khan
2nd Best AthleteAzher Iqbal
Best Athlete FemaleShabnam Nawaz
2nd Best Athlete FemaleRida / Perm Rose
Championship TrophyShirazi Hall
March Past TrophyGriswold Hall

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *