The Department of Chemistry in association with Department of Pharmacy of Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore organizes Three-day conference on

Nanomaterials: New Trends in Development and Applications

January 29-31



The Department of Chemistry, Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore, has been organizing national and international workshops and conferences annually since 2014, on different topics of current interest. For the year 2019, the department is organizing a three-day conference on “Nanomaterials: New Trends in Development and Applications“, from 29th to 31st January, 2019. The conference aims to bring together eminent scientists and researchers, faculty and students, working in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology to discuss and share ideas and innovations in the field, to network and to establish collaborations based on mutual interests.

Nanoscience and nanotechnology is a rapidly expanding field with multidisciplinary applications expanding from advanced materials to nanomedicine, smart devices, molecular machines, (bio)sensors, and targeted drug delivery. Since nanoparticles have unique characteristics, one of the forefronts of research on nanomaterials is to find novel applications for these nanoparticles. Nanotoxicology is also a rapidly gaining popularity; as the scientific community becomes more aware of the harmful effects associated with some of the nanoparticles, they urge safe practices to be followed while handling nanoparticles.

The conference aims to address and discuss all such issues which are at the core of nanomaterials research. Abstracts are invited for oral talks and poster presentation by researchers working in the field of nanomaterials, the themes covered by the conference include, but are not to following:

  • Nanomaterials Synthesis
  • Structural Characterization Techniques for Nanoparticles
  • Applications of Nanomaterials in Electronics and Solar Cells
  • Nano-pesticides
  • Nano-fertilizers
  • Anticancer and other Biologically Active Nanomaterials
  • Nanomaterials in Targeted Drug Delivery
  • Nanomaterials in Biomedical Research

Click here to fill out the Registration Form 

Last Date for Registration: January 18, 2019

Click here to fill the Abstract Submission Form

Last Date for Submission of Abstract: January 18, 2019

Click here to download the Abstract Template

  • Registration Fee for Students (With conference bag & abstract book)
    Rs. 3000
  • Registration Fee for Students (Without conference bag & abstract book)
    Rs. 2500
  • Registration Fee for Faculty
    Faculty: Rs. 4500

Bank Account Details:

Account Number: 23617000023201

Title: Forman Christian College

Bank: Habib Bank Limited

Branch: F.C.College Branch, Lahore

Deposit registration fee, attach original bank deposit slip along with filled registration form and send via post to:

Dr. Mariya al-Rashida, Chairperson, Chemistry Department, Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore.

Dr. Mariya al-Rashida

Chairperson, Department of Chemistry

Tel: (042) 99231518-8, Ext: 594


A presenter can use any type of Format and Style for poster presentation; however, the size of poster must be A0 Size (841 mm Width and 1189 mm Height OR 33.2 inches in Width and 46.8 inches in Height)

  • Chief Patron
    • Dr. James A. Tebbe (Rector)
  • Patrons
    • Prof. Joseph Sun (Vice Rector)
    • Dr. Kauser A. Malik (Dean Postgraduate Studies)
    • Dr. Hamid Saeed (Registrar)
  • Chief Organizer
    • Dr. Dildar Ahmed (Dean of Natural Sciences)
  • Focal Person
    • Dr. Athar Y. Khan
  • Organizing Secretary
    • Dr. Mariya al-Rashida (Chairperson, Department of Chemistry)
  • Departmental Advisory Committee
    • Dr. Christy Munir
    • Dr. M. Saeed Iqbal
  • Industry Academia Coordinator
    • Mr. Muhammad Idrees (CEO NovaMed Pharmaceutical Pvt. Ltd.)
    • Dr. Abdul Haleem Khan (Chairperson, Department of Pharmacy)
  • Scientific Committee
    • Dr. Athar Y. Khan
    • Dr. M. Akhyar Farrukh
    • Dr. M. Tariq Qamar
    • Dr. M. Zubair Yousaf
    • Dr. Azizullah
    • Dr. Atta ur Rehman
  • Transportation/Accommodation
    • Dr. Tariq Qamar
    • Mr. Azeem Emmanuel
    • Mr. Kashif Masih
    • Ms. Urfa Atazaz
  • Reception & Registration
    • Dr. M. Akhyar Farrukh
    • Ms. Hina Abid
    • Mr. Raza Chaudhry
    • Dr. Hafiz Mazhar Asjad
    • Dr. Khurram Rehman
  • Stage & Venue
    • Dr. Shazma Azeem
    • Dr. Hira Khalid
    • Mr. Azeem Emmanuel
    • Mr. Arslan William
  • Refreshment
    • Dr. M. Nadeem Asghar
    • Mr. Kashif Masih
  • Promotion
    • Dr. Seemal Jelani
    • Dr. Hira Khalid
    • Mr. Kashif Masih
Invited Speakers
  • Men Dong
    Wuhan Institute of Virology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Jian Chen
    State Key Laboratory of Transducer Technology, Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of     Sciences, China
  • Safyan Akram Khan
    Centre of Research Excellence in Nanotechnology (CENT), King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM), Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
  • N.M. Butt
    Preston Institute of Nano Science & Technology (PINSAT), Preston University, Islamabad, Pakistan
  • Raza Shah
    HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, University of Karachi, Karachi, Pakistan
  • Irshad Hussain
    Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, LUMS, Lahore, Pakistan
  • Syed Abid Ali
    HEJ Research Institute of Chemistry, University of Karachi, Karachi, Pakistan
  • Muhammad Najam-ul-Haq
    Institute of Chemical Sciences, BZU, Multan, Pakistan
  • Syed Tufail Hussain Sherazi
    National Center of Excellence in Analytical Chemistry, University of Sindh, Jamshoro,  Pakistan
  • Rizwan Raza
    Department of Physics, COMSATS University  Islamabad, Lahore Campus, Pakistan
  • Waheed S. Khan
    National Institute for Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering (NIBGE), Faisalabad, Pakistan
  • Safeer Ahmed
    Department of Chemistry, Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad, Pakistan
  • Asad Muhammad Khan
    Department of Chemistry, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Abbottabad, Pakistan
  • Shahid Iqbal
    Research Fellow, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China