The Department of Political Science at FCCU is one of the largest departments in Social Sciences. The courses offered by the Department are open to students majoring in Political Science as well as other disciplines. The Department’s teaching faculty had the distinction of having scholars of national and international prominence like Dr Carl W Wheeless, Prof Mary Wheeless, Dr Kitchen, Dr Anwar M Barkat, Dr Arshad Karim Syed, Dr Shokat Ali, Dr Hamid Kizilbash, Prof Naseem Zakariya, Dr Parveen Shaukat and Dr Shafqat Hussain Chaudhary.

The quality of instructional work in the Department has indeed been of a high standard. Research work is encouraged. There is a dedicated faculty available to teach various papers and supervise research. The Department arranges extensive lectures, seminars and study tours to facilitate academic excellence in students. Alumni of this Department have contributed positively to national uplift and have excelled in numerous professions.

The department offers a BA (Hons) degree in Political Science and is part of the Faculty of Social Sciences.


The 4-year degree in Political Science encourages students to take courses in the fields of International Relations, Politics of Pakistan and Political Philosophy. Students are encouraged to develop a critical understanding of various phenomena of national and international politics, and their abilities to critically evaluate these concepts are nurtured through active classroom discussions.

Learning Objectives:

  • Demonstrate in-depth knowledge of the major concepts of politics
  • Think critically and analytically with a view to developing the habit of lifelong learning
  • Use appropriate skills for careers in foreign and domestic service, politics, law school, teaching, research and graduate study in Political Science
  • Function as active citizens in keeping with high ethical standards
  • Write analytically on an issue and present it effectively to an audience

Roadmap for BA/BS (Hons) Political Science

Eligibility criteria For BS (Hons):

  • Students who have passed their Intermediate
  • A- Level students who have cleared at least 3 principal A-Level exams (not AS Level) Equivalence attested from the IBCC Needed .
  • A- Level students who have given their A levels exams in October, November and are awaiting results are eligible to apply, they need to attach a copy of the statement of entry.
  • Students who have done their American High School. Equivalence needed attested from the IBCC .
  • Students who have  done their Intermediate from the Technical Board
  • Students applying for BS (Hons) Biotechnology must have done FSc Pre-Medical or should have studied Biology and Chemistry in A-Level.

Dr Ryan Brasher


PhD (Indiana University, USA)
Room E-032, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 639

Dr Wajid Ali Ranjha

Associate Professor

PhD (University of Adelaide, Australia)
Room E-236, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 647

Dr Muhammad Younis

Associate Professor

PhD (Huazhong University of Science & Technology, China)
MPhil, MA (PU, Lahore)
Room E-036, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 634

Shakila Noor Sindhu, Ph.D

Chairperson & Assistant Professor

PhD, Pakistan Study Centre (University of the Punjab, Lahore)
MPhil (Government College University Lahore)
Masters (University of the Punjab through GC Lahore)
Room E-135, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 663

Muneeza Mirza

Assistant Professor

MPhil (Punjab University, Lahore)
MA (Punjab University, Lahore)
Room E-130, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 662

Qalandar Memon

Assistant Professor

MSc in Comparative Politics (London School of Economics)
MA in Philosophy (Birkbeck College, University of London)
PhD in progress (Royal Holloway University of London)
Room E-031, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 582

Dr Shehzadi Zamurrad Awan

Associate Professor

PhD (Punjab University, Lahore)
MPhil (Government College, Lahore)
Room E-030, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 642

Dr Mudassir Farooqi

Assistant Professor of Politics and International Relations

PhD (University of Leicester, England)
MPhil (UMT)

Dr Syed Rashid Munir

Assistant Professor

Dr Ayra Indrias Patras

Assistant Professor

PhD (University of the Punjab)

M Usman Farooq


PhD in progress (University of Osnabrueck)
MA Political Science (University of Osnabrueck)
Room E-114-A, Business and Social Sciences Building
Ext: 682


2020FA2021SPTotal Fee per Year Excluding TaxTotal Fee per Year Including Tax Per Credit Rate 
Tuition FeeAdmission Fee for Fall AdmissionsSecurity for Fall AdmissionsTotal Tuition FeeAdmission Fee for Spring AdmissionsSecurity for Spring AdmissionsTotal 
       152,000        20,000        18,000      190,000      152,000        20,000        18,000      190,000           342,000           358,200                   9,354