Physics has been taught at Forman Christian College (A Chartered University) since it was established in 1864. The Physics Department was instituted in 1907 with Prof DJ Fleming as its first Head. A long line of distinguished professors and prominent scientists have served at this Department, including Nobel Laureate Dr Arthur Compton, Prof JM Benade and Dr Piara Singh Gill. Dr Compton conducted most of his research on cosmic rays while a faculty member at FCC, which led to his receiving the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1927. Prof JM Benade was one of the longest serving professors in the Department, eventually retiring as its Head in 1970. He was an active researcher and the Asian representative in Dr Compton’s international research team. Dr Compton’s student Dr Piara Singh Gill was a faculty member at FCC from 1940 to 1947 and active in research. He was associated with the University of Chicago and the Georgia Institute of Technology. All these scientists and professors have made significant contributions to the field of Physics.


The Department of Physics offers a BS (Hons) degree in Physics that concentrates on building its students capacities as physicists through a variety of courses and learning activities. The Department is part of the Faculty of Natural Sciences.

Learning Objectives:

  • Demonstrate a general working knowledge of the basic areas of Physics and apply formal knowledge in a problem-solving environment
  • Demonstrate proficiency in basic laboratory skills (e.g. instrumental analysis and laboratory safety) and formulate effective strategies for solving scientific problems
  • Efficiently use library resources and technology to gather information, read, understand, and communicate scientific information clearly and precisely, both orally and in writing
  • Analyze the broader implications of Physics-related experimentation and application processes (e.g., resource management, economic factors, and ecological considerations)
  • Work effectively with others as part of a team to solve scientific problems
  • Describe the opportunities in, and requirements for, careers available to those with training in Physics

Roadmap for BS (Hons) Physics

Eligibility criteria For BS (Hons):

  • Students who have passed their Intermediate
  • A- Level students who have cleared at least 3 principal A-Level exams (not AS Level) Equivalence attested from the IBCC Needed .
  • A- Level students who have given their A levels exams in October, November and are awaiting results are eligible to apply, they need to attach a copy of the statement of entry.
  • Students who have done their American High School. Equivalence needed attested from the IBCC .
  • Students who have  done their Intermediate from the Technical Board
  • Students applying for BS (Hons) Biotechnology must have done FSc Pre-Medical or should have studied Biology and Chemistry in A-Level.

Dr Sufian Aslam

Associate Vice Rector for Faculty Affairs
Professor of Physics
Guardian Sherazi Hall

PhD Molecular Gas Dynamics (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia)
MS Atomic Physics (St Kliment Ohridski University, Sofia, Bulgaria)

Dr Sadia Zaheer


PhD (Gc University, Lahore)
MPhil (Gc University, Lahore)
Ext: 482
Room # 024, Armacost Science Building

Dr Fareeha Hameed

Associate Professor

PhD (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
MSc (PU, Lahore)
Ext: 477
Room # 045, Armacost Science Building

Dr Saqlain Abbas Shah

Associate Professor

POSTDOC (University of Washington, USA)
PhD (GC University Lahore)
Ext: 483
Room S-019, Armacost Science Building

Dr Hamid Latif

Associate Professor

PhD (University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore)
M.Phil (Govt. College University, Lahore)
Ext: 584
Room # 035, Armacost Science Building

Dr Khalid Javed

Chairperson & Associate Professor

PhD (University of chinese Academy of sciences, Beijing, China)
MPhil (University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore)
Ext: 511
Room # 001, Armacost Science Building

Dr Laila Zafar Kahlon

Associate Professor

PhD (GC University, Lahore)
MPhil (GC University, Lahore)
Ext: 596
Room # 025, Armacost Science Building

Syeda Ammara Shabbir

Assistant Professor

PhD Candidate (University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore)
MPhil (University of Punjab, Lahore)
Ext: 590
Room # 132, Armacost Science Building


2020FA2021SPTotal Fee per Year Excluding TaxTotal Fee per Year Including Tax Per Credit Rate 
Tuition FeeAdmission Fee for Fall AdmissionsSecurity for Fall AdmissionsTotal Tuition FeeAdmission Fee for Spring AdmissionsSecurity for Spring AdmissionsTotal 
       152,000        20,000        18,000      190,000      152,000        20,000        18,000      190,000           342,000           358,200                   9,354