Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry is one of the oldest departments at Forman Christian College. The department enjoys a rich heritage of eminent chemistry scholars, three especially being worthy of mention. Prof Carter Speers (1940-1951) was head of the chemistry department and professor of Technical Chemistry, University of the Punjab. Dr RF Tebbe, a devoted organic chemist and a learned teacher, spent 12 years at FCC as professor of chemistry and was also principal of the college. Prof Dr Khairat M Ibne Rasa, a scientist of international repute, was a professor of organic chemistry and also served as Head of the Chemistry Department. He later became Vice Chancellor of Punjab University (1976-1984) and of Bahauddin Zakaria University Multan (1975-1976). He also served as deputy director general of the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (IESCO).

The Department of Chemistry includes expertise in all chemical disciplines. It offers classes in the Intermediate program at the college level and in the Baccalaureate and MPhil programs at the university level.

The Speers Chemical Society creates awareness about the importance of chemistry in daily life and promotes the knowledge of Chemistry among students.

The Chemistry faculty have their offices in the Armacost Science Building. For information on the Department faculty, check the faculty directory.